Soy Moratorium


Meeting of signatories of Soya Moratorium, held in 2010, for reassurance of the commitment.

The Soy Moratorium is a commitment established by processors and exporters affiliated to the Brazilian Vegetable Oil Industry Association (Abiove) and the National Grain Exporters Association (ANEC) not to trade soybean originated in deforested areas within the Brazilian Amazon Biome after the date of its signing, on July 24, 2006. The initiative seeks to reconcile environmental preservation with economic development, through the responsible and sustainable use of natural resources.

In 2009, the commitment was extended and Banco do Brasil joined the group as an important membership, preceded by the Ministry of the Environment and INPE (National Institute for Space Research) in 2008. To carry out monitoring of production, the companies and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) jointly acted in a Soy Working Group (GTS), responsible for the implementation and process control of the Moratorium.

The GTS includes the ANEC and ABIOVE entities, as well as Amaggi, ADM, Bunge and Cargill, and NGOs: Conservation International (CI-Brasil), Greenpeace, civil society organizations Conservation International (CI-Brazil), Greenpeace, Amazon Environmental Research Institute (IPAM), The Nature Conservancy ( TNC) and WWF Brazil.

Moratória da Soja

The monitoring methodology is via the system PRODES (Program for the Calculation of Deforestation in the Amazon), and INPE (National Institute for Space Research) with subsequent data filter applications to check those areas likely to contain soybean crops.

These defined areas are flown over during soybean planting season for confirmation of continuous use of soil and the occurrence of these crops. Land surveying is done to identify the information of the properties. Areas larger than 100 hectares were checked during both of the previous monitoring ways, the minimum area considered economically viable for soybean cultivation in the region of the Amazon forest. There was another project for smaller areas in three cities: Feliz Natal, Vera and União do Sul, the three of them in Mato Grosso.

During the 2007/08 harvest, 268 deforestation areas were monitored and none were identified as having soybeans planted. During the 2008/09 harvest, 633 deforestation areas were monitored and 12 areas were identified as having soybean plantings. During the 2009/10 harvest, 351 deforestation areas are being monitored, and the methodology for monitoring and filtering has been improved, allowing the verification of areas larger than 25 hectares. Methodology change was a reflection of the change in deforestation profile on the Amazon biome from large to smaller areas.

Bookmark and Share